Kenya reintroduced lockdown in Covid-19’s third wave of infection rate

The Kenyan president H.E. Uhuru Kenyatta has today announced on National Briefings that five of Kenya’s counties will be on total lockdown as Covid-19 cases increase.

In what is aired out as 3rd wave infection rate, the Kenyan government reintroduced lockdown and curfew.

Nairobi county is the worst hit town with higher number of daily Covid-19 cases.

Along with the capital city, Machakos, Kajiado, Nakuru and Kiambu counties have been locked down till revision of measures is done. For the time period, movement of persons that are not essential workers is prohibited.

In those counties, curfew will take place at 8pm and ends at 4am, Kenyan time.

In the other counties, it will be as from 10am and ends at 4pm.

The president has called for individual responsibility as the country continue to fight corona virus.

Vaccination of 58 years old and above people has been mandated.

Closing of all learning institutions is also to take effect at midnight with exception with those doing their national exams.

Share the news