Great liberation history of the SPLA Commando Unit predominantly dominated by the Nuer and Dinka

Lt. Gen. Buay Rolnyang addressing South Sudan elites force, SPLA CommandoLt. Gen. Buay Rolnyang addressing South Sudan elites force, SPLA Commando

SPLA-Bright stars campaign (BSC) commandos were formed by Dr. John Garang De Mabior in 1990 to launch operation thunderstorm (OTS) in the western Equatoria region,

The BSC commando were 11 task forces;

Their overall commander was:

1.) Oyai Deng Ajak (Shilluk) and

2.) deputy was James Hoth Mai (Nuer from Ulang).

*Operation commander was David Majok Mach Aluong(Bor Dinka)

Their overall commander in chief who went with them to capture all the towns in the western Equatoria region was Dr. John Garang De Mabior.

Here were the practical 11 task forces commanders who were leading each task force of commando to a very successful military operation:

BSC task forces -1: commander was John Kawet Machar (from Bentiu, Nuer). He was later killed in Juba town on July 6, 1992, and Nhial Jongkuch Nhial (Bor Dinka) took over the task Force but was later killed in action at Pogee town in Eastern Equatoria after SAF pushed all SPLA forces to the border of Uganda.

BSC task-2: Gabriel Jok Riak (Bor Dinka)

BSC task -3: Machok Atem (Ngok Dinka of Khorfulus )

BSC task-4: Abuoi Arok Deng (Bor Dinka)

BSC task-5: Michael Manoah (from Yirol Dinka)

BSC task-6: Marial Chanuong Yol (from Yirol Dinka)

BSC task-7:  Deng Kuot Nyang ( Bor Dinka  )

BSC task-8: Yaak Deu ( Bor Dinka )

BSC task -9: Wang Chok Koryom (from Lou Nuer)

BSC task-10: Cdr-James Koang Chuol (from Nasir, Nuer)

BSC task-11: Garang Mading Agok ( Bor Dinka ) .

The Commandos unit Liberated the whole of Central and Western Equatoria from 1990 to 1992 with clean Victory…. they taught SAF forces good battle lessons…

SPLA Files and records!!

Share the news